Gluten-Free Does Not Mean Flavor Free
Cheerios - Gluten-Free?
I have been hearing about Cheerios going gluten-free for some time but every time I look at our local stores, they are not there. Yesterday, FINALLY, we found the gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios (the original was still not the one labeled "gluten free" and we had to be careful to make sure the ones we bought said "gluten free" because there were still some next to them that were NOT) and bought some.
I admit, I grew up eating Cheerios (before I knew gluten was the source of many of my health issues) and so did my kids. I missed them every time I saw a commercial for them, every time I saw someone else eating them, and every time I saw them in the grocery store. So, as you can see, I was really excited they were going to make them gluten-free. At any rate, I bought the Gluten-Free Honey Nut Cheerios and ate way more of them than I should have and did not have any issues. I enjoyed them as they took me back to my kids' childhoods and my childhood. Cheerios was one of their first "finger foods" because they are manageable for little ones. It was bliss.
According to General Mills (manufacturer of Cheerios), the oats are not grown in dedicated fields because there are not enough oats grown that way to last them a month, much less a year. They put the oats through a rigorous process and testing BEFORE they ever become Cheerios. To learn more about their process and testing, go to their site.
However, some of the individuals in the gluten-free community have reported that they are having issues with the Cheerios. I don't know if they really can't eat them due to the process or if they are having a reaction to something else in them. As we (those of us in the GF community) know, we have multiple issues in terms of intolerances, sensitivities and allergies. The other question would be, did they make sure the box they purchased said "gluten-free" on the front?
I can't say. I do hope that more farmers will start growing oats in dedicated gluten-free fields. It would take a lot of the guesswork out of the equation.
In the meantime, unless I do react to them, I will be enjoying my Honey Nut Cheerios. I am hoping the original ones will be available to us soon. However, it might be awhile because it looks like our local store (where we bought the gluten-free Honey Nut ones) has stocked up on the original ones. I am guessing they bought them at a greatly reduced price and put them on sale. The original flavored Cheerios are on two or three endcaps (the end of the aisles) and on several shelves.
Feel free to comment and let me know how you are doing with the NEW gluten-free versions of Cheerios. I am very interested in learning how others are fairing.
Additionally, I am very glad we have more options now.